People have some group mail id for their documents to be shared with all. You can see such group mail id’s between students, employees, partners. A guy called me up and asked me how to remove an email account from Gmail of a group, which was unfortunately opened on his phone. I wondered why he couldn’t do such a simple thing! Then I realized the actual thing, don’t waste time to remove the email from Gmail app.
email account in Gmail application
Have you ever wonder how are your emails logged in Gmail app? All the Google apps are connected with Google accounts. You might give any of your accounts to log in from any app. From there, your account details are synced to App Data, Calendar, Chrome, Contacts, Docs, Drive, Gmail, Google Fit data, Google Play Books, Google Play Movies & TV, Google Play Music, Google Play Newsstand, Google+, and other Application data.
So, this is how you can see all the accounts which are added into Accounts of Google. You should get a clear idea of how to remove an email account from Gmail application in android.
How to remove an email account from Gmail
Now, to remove any certain email from Gmail you should directly remove it from google accounts. You can remove it from mobile accounts settings. But if you remove any google account then all the data will be lost related to that accounts. And if you want to remove account only from Gmail and keep the rest app synced with it, you better just don’t use from Gmail.
Suppose you don’t want to see the email account in your Gmail but wanted all other data to be synced. You should copy the total data to the account which you prefer to use usually. After you copy the total data to your preferred account, you can then remove the account which you don’t want to use in Gmail.
- go to settings in your mobile phone.
- In settings, open account settings.
- Select Google accounts
- In there, you can see all the Google accounts connected with your Google Apps.
- Click on the account to remove.
- You will see the list of apps with which the account will be synced with.
- At the top right corner, you can spot option button.
- click on options button to select remove account
- After you select remove account, the account will be disappeared.
Finally, After you clear a Google Account, all its data related to Contacts, App data, Game data, Calenders, Drive, Gmail, Photos, Maps, and many others will be synced the data of other accounts in account settings. As said above, to save the data for other apps, you should copy the data to any other email which you prefer to be kept with your Google Account in Settings.